100000000 useless credits

I have trouble understanding the (real world) economics of World of Warships. It’s a free to play game with microtransactions. If you play a battle, you get credits and XP, but also spend credits. The game has a subscription for about $10/month that increases gains by 50%. You can also buy more XP and credits with paid consumables and directly from money.

The “problem” is that I’m sitting on 100M credits without any idea what to spend it on. Sure, I have a subscription, but once it’ll run out, I won’t renew it because my ships are already maxed out, my captains soon will so I won’t even use the XP boost anymore. Nor I will buy consumables. Currently I buy a consumable that increases captain XP by 50%, that costs $0.02/battle, approximately $0.07/hour. I doubt they get rich on that and even it won’t last. As soon as my captains are all maxed, I won’t pay anything and play only in ranked seasons.

So I don’t really get why did they design the credits economics the way they did. In World of Tanks you lose credits with T9-10 tanks even if you’re good and subscribed. That made sense. The system of Warships does not.

Now they introduced new resources, coal and steel. You get these by playing and can buy useful items for them. I already got two engine boost improvement, and plan to get more. However I don’t understand why the new resources. They are not coming from the shop and they are not credits. The game already has a shop and an in-game currency, why having two new?

I seriously doubt they know what they are doing.

.

PS: “ks” means “king of sea”, right? Because what else my teammates would call me?
ks

Author: Gevlon

My blog: https://greedygoblinblog.wordpress.com/

9 thoughts on “100000000 useless credits”

  1. You aren’t buying any new ships. You keep playing the same line of IJN destroyers, including lower tiers, you have a premium account and you play reasonably well.
    If any of the above wasn’t true you’d run out of credits eventually. Without a premium account, it isn’t really possible to play T10s exclusively without losing credits.
    Plus, the premium account doesn’t just give +50% credits. It increases the income by 50%, true, but there are the static costs in every match (service, ammo and consumables). At T10 they are roughly 300k. Say, you make 250k average credits per game, 375k with premium, you’re left with 75k per game. Without the premium, you’re left with negative 50k. Now you have to go to lower tiers and farm credits, serving as an easier target for the people with premium accounts.
    Most people play worse than you so they lose credits very quickly in higher tiers.
    As for coal and steel – I have little clue what they are doing. I think they wanted to give people some currency to buy things like signals, special modules and an occasional ship, so they used to give away small amounts of doubloons. Then they realized that people don’t use those for anything other than premium accounts, which is the most sensible purchase, so they created separate currencies to avoid it.

    Like

  2. @Stawek: No one has reason to play T10 exclusively when ranked battles use lower tiers.

    I never understood those who play different kind of ships. Don’t they have a preferred playstyle?

    Why don’t they sell the same items for credits instead of steel and coal?

    Like

  3. I play all ships to have some variability. My favourites are DDs, cruisers are fine. I played BBs mostly to learn how they think. Same with CVs.
    Besides, you don’t know if you like Gearing’s playstyle until you have one.
    Credits aren’t there to be a currency, they are balancing factor for non-premium users, forcing them to either spend money on premiums or be cannon fodder for high tiers.
    Doubloons are the real currency.
    Coal and Steel are doubloons minus the premium account, meaning when WG gives them away for free the recipients spend it on something “fun” rather than premium time. This means WG isn’t losing money on premium purchases and the people are actually happier with a free ship than a month of premium (even if the latter is more valuable in most cases).

    Like

  4. @Stawek:
    Shima torp: 150 secs reload, 21K damage, 62 knots, 20 km, 3×5 (6 per min)
    Gearing torp: 136 secs reload, 18K damage, 66 knots, 16.5 km, 2×5 (4.4 per min)
    I don’t have to play it to dislike it.

    My biggest surprise is that you can’t buy coal/steel in the shop. Also, if you could just spend credits in the Arsenal, more people would subscribe. I really don’t get where is the profit on coal/steel.

    Like

  5. As stawek tried to explain it to you… Most people use a wide variety of ships and do not focus solely on a few ships, they like to collect.
    This may seem strange and totally unreasonable to do, but remember, people are different and apparently this works for WG. Same goes for a lot of android games, lots of “heroes”, “vehicles” to collect, thus letting people spend immense amounts of time and money…

    YOU JUST GOTTA COLLECT THEM ALL!!!!!

    Like

  6. ks means kill secure. They are praising you for making sure those ships dont come back to haunt them.
    .
    .
    .
    if only *sigh*

    Like

  7. Last week I had a Kraken at 50k damage. Including a sub-100 damage kill.
    Ended up with 7 kills in 130k damage and wasn’t even first on XP list 😀

    Like

Leave a comment

Occasional Hero

Adventures in Part Time Gaming

Me Vs. Myself and I

A little bit of everything, a whole lot of nothing.

Gnomecore

World of Warcraft | Final Fantasy XIV Blog

I HAS PC

Life and Interwebs

In An Age

The adventure I was hoping for was in a place like this

Why I Game

Wandering worlds, wondering words...

Bio Break

MMOs, retro gaming, music, and more

GamingSF

Online gaming blog