300 vikings

The limiting factor from having awful lot of people in a Northgard game is food. As you have more and more people, the food demand grows more than linear as a mechanic against snowballing. Here is a test I did by intentionally killing my people in the “capture all map” save. Don’t worry, I reloaded the save, so the genocide never happened:
villfood
Because of that, I realized that it would be impossible for me to reach 300 villagers with the wolf clan, despite having 240 on that save. So I started a new game (Huge, no AI, hard) with the goat clan, thinking that food won’t be their problem. As it turned out, it is still a hard limiting factor and I almost lost the attempt in literally at 299 people, because I got rats in the summer and then Blizzard in the winter:
goat1
.
goat2
The problem is not food production, but food maximum. Even if I can fill the coffers at the summer, a nasty Blizzard winter can burn it down. As you could see, I had 1100 consumption, which means 16K food eaten during the winter, while the maximum capacity is 8500.

But luckily sickness didn’t kick in before the winter was over, I could blow a (free) feast and reach 300. Then I built the Altar of Kings to formally win the game. Here is the map and my summer productions:
goat4goat3

As you can see, most of my people are healers. Why? Because food producing people are limited by food areas (farming land, game, fish), so I can only produce more food with villagers. But healers with medicine knowledge gather food like villagers, but their iron upgrade gives +15% production and if they are in an area with granary, its 20% bonus also applies, as they are specialized workers. So they can produce 5.5 food, which is great. The downside is that they stop doing it when healing. It’s usually not a problem as there isn’t much to heal anyway. Except when rats come. Sickness slowly eats away the health of the people, occupying healers for the whole duration of the effect. If I have so many people, I can get 30+ sick, which can take away most of my healers. When I saw the rats coming, I reassigned the healers to be villagers, but this still cost me production as villagers produce less and they produce nothing when running to buildings.

Could I go higher? Possibly. In the total map domination game I got more food areas: 10 farms, 8 game, 8 fish (26 total). In this game I got 4 farms, 2 game, 10 fish (16 total). The difference is that every player gets two guaranteed food zones near his town hall. In the domination game each 7 AI players got their guaranteed spots, now I only got mine and whatever randoms shown up. So first thing first: play against 7 AI, kill them all.

Secondly, despite their insane food production, Goats are probably not optimal for the project, because they can only colonize at full cost. With 16 granaries, I can have 8500 maximum food, allowing me to capture no more than what I’ve captured: 39 areas. The next would cost 8580. Sure, with 26 food zones I could get 13500 max, which would allow me to capture a few more zones. That’s important, because I fully built my land. Not a single building spot was spared. I had 38 healer buildings and 38 upgraded houses with only 39 zones. Ergo, practically every single zone had a healer and a home, leaving 1-2 spots for other buildings. Namely: 16 food buildings + granaries, 21 brewers, 9 money buildings, 4 woodcutters and sheepfolds. All other clans can capture more land, either because they have the -30% food talent or can capture with other means.

Author: Gevlon

My blog: https://greedygoblinblog.wordpress.com/

8 thoughts on “300 vikings”

  1. I have a meta question: while I don’t have problem with your Northgard posts, but how are these differs from “game diary” for which you said they are not worthy blogging material?

    Like

  2. @cathfaern: I’m unaware that anyone reached that high number of villagers. This isn’t the usual play of the game which is fast multiplayer rushes.

    Like

  3. Yeah, but how it differs from starting up WoW and level a Pandarian in the starter zone to 120 only with gathering herbs? Or climb every mountain (without flying mount) and screenshot it? Sure, those needs more time commitment, and your needs more mind commitment, but I’m not sure what others (especially those who don’t play the game) could learn from it. You don’t compete with anyone, you don’t break the meta, you just choose an (seemingly) arbitrary goal and try to achieve it, while you are documenting it.

    I also don’t play World of Warships, but those posts are interesting because you try to do some not mainstream thing while showing that your thing is better than the mainstream. Honestly if I recall right, all of your “big success” themes comes from this: you try to find non-mainstream method to be more successful than mainstream: World of Warcraft / Black Desert gold generating without farming, Blue gear raiding in WoW, EVE success without being the leader of an empire or has “leet PVP skills”, ranking in LoL without getting “leet skills” or using the meta (ok, that was not a huge success in the respective community, but I think that tells more about LoL’s community), etc.

    In these Northgard posts you are doing non-mainstream things but your achievement cannot be compared to anything and does not seems to has an essence. Maybe you are a genius, maybe others could found it much faster / easier just don’t care. Who knows? Also your previous achivements had a sort of “meta teaching”. Like Blue raid gearing: “wisdom / knowledge / tactics means more than gear”, or gold farming: “money / time is more meaningful than hardcore farming”, etc. But it hard to draw up such conclusion for these Northgards post. Maybe there is, just it’s not visible enough?

    Like

  4. @cathfaern: the time commitment was under 8 hours (save game has minutes played on it). Do you see no value of figuring out something most players considered impossible?

    Like

  5. Bit of a random comment. No need to approve this, just giving a suggestion.

    Try a game called “Vermintide 2”. I feel it has everything you might enjoy. Grouping, an extreme skill ceiling, possibilities for breaking it, loads of gear math.

    As a bonus, it has no microtransactions at all, so no incentive to break/cheat the game.

    It’s on sale on steam right now too. Give it a watch on youtube and see if it something that might interest you.

    Like

  6. Would clan bear work better then? with its lore bonuses unlocked your winter and even blizz food production aren’t as impacted. If the issue is you cant store enough food for winter then you need better ways to MAKE food in winter.

    Like

  7. @Nightgerbil: Bear doesn’t help much with blizzard. It’s a negative effect happening in winter, halving food production. Bear is even more impacted, since a bigger number is halved.

    Like

  8. Your instincts about using opponents was spot on. Was able to make a giant game with max opponents even with Wolf go above 300 pretty easily (albeit slowly towards the end… just let it run while I was working) simply because there are a lot more food zones. Got to 330 before I got bored after realizing that Wolf would never hit the max that goat could; the ability to get all the zones doesn’t outweigh the production bonus.

    Going to try another with Goat and be very careful with zone selection and see how high I can get it.

    Also- I found that keeping lots ofarkets stocked helped with the inevitable blizzard + rats combo. A fully aged market will have 1k food, essentially giving you reserves you can tap into if you have the coin for it. I kept 8 fully stocked markets up and found that extra food extremely helpful.

    Going to try goat and let you know what I can get there. I suspect it is capable of 420-450 max population easily if you use a map with full opponents and if you can get good with the merchant/healer swap dance to maximize coin for market buying usage during the inevitable bad disaster combos.

    Like

Leave a comment

Occasional Hero

Adventures in Part Time Gaming

Me Vs. Myself and I

A little bit of everything, a whole lot of nothing.

Gnomecore

World of Warcraft | Final Fantasy XIV Blog

I HAS PC

Life and Interwebs

In An Age

The adventure I was hoping for was in a place like this

Why I Game

Wandering worlds, wondering words...

Bio Break

MMOs, retro gaming, music, and more

GamingSF

Online gaming blog