“Strategy” or “meta” vs “skillz”

To get result in games, you need both understanding and execution. I’m looking for the first. But how to explain what belongs here? It’s not that hard as it looks: strategy is hard to find but easy to apply, while execution is easy to find and hard to apply.

For example “get lasthits” in League of Legends is a trivial thing to say, but hard to apply, because both your own minions and the enemy players disturb your actions. Minion count is an important statistics to decide which player is better. On the other hand “pick a good jungler if you jungle” is trivial to apply, just select the proper minion portrait, but figuring out who counts as good jungler isn’t that obvious, there are so many champions with different abilities. Some are more often used, others are not.

Figuring out how to jungle with Ashe, not in the sense as “not dying to minions”, but “having 50%+ winrate with jungle Ashe in the top 5%” would be a new strategy. Attacking Goons by highsec mercs was a new strategy, while the actual application wasn’t even done by me. Hiding and crawling to get into the top 0.01% in PUBG was a new strategy, but anyone can do it now, just by reading my guide.

In Overwatch I want to find copy-paste lines and such to facilitate the creation of teams that beat enemy teams without me being any better. I’m a firm believer that the 2-2-2 strategy is horrible and a mere copy of pro teams who can utilize it by having perfect communication and teamwork, while 1-1-4 would work much better for randoms, even assuming equal skill. But people won’t believe me until I can prove it by climbing to at least the top 10%. Also, believing me doesn’t help anyone if they can’t enforce it on the randoms. I fully believe myself, yet I get 2-2-2 teams most of the time. I have to figure out how to convince randoms in a few seconds to abandon their months practiced beliefs.

It won’t be easy, but if I find it, I find something relevant in real life, as opposed to getting execution skills in a video game that are never as good as a $5 aimbot. But hey, these moments compensate for all the hard work:
working
Note: tank picking guy asked that if we picked Torb+Bastion already, can he pick Tracer (I guess he was trolling) and I answered “sure” and off he went. Then we won of course, with Tracer being the top killer.

Author: Gevlon

My blog: https://greedygoblinblog.wordpress.com/

5 thoughts on ““Strategy” or “meta” vs “skillz””

  1. When you get to high rating, will 2+2+2 work or even then it is better to burst down the opponent with 1+1+4?

    Like

  2. @retsep: I assume 222 is used for a reason in top games. Probably you can’t burn down good players, because good tanks get front of good DPS and good healers keep them up. 4 DPS can’t hide behind 1 tank, so the enemy DPS can kill them while them being safe behind tanks.

    Like

  3. I have to figure out how to convince randoms in a few seconds to abandon their months practiced beliefs.

    To understand something in a few seconds is easy, to rewire your brain to actually do it and be comfortable (on auto pilot) with it … much much harder.
    Here watch an adult waste several 5 minutes throughout some months of his life to learn to ride a backwards bike. really watch it. bias either uncontentious or wilfully hammered into our brains is very hard to recognise and unlearn.

    Like

  4. Anon:

    Yeah, you can’t ride a backwards bike any more than someone who has never touched a regular bike can ride the normal one. It’s like suddenly trying to write with the wrong hand, or use a dvorak keyboard. But with a bike, it’s a lot harder because of all the mechanics you had to learn without understanding them at all.

    You don’t have to understand the core mechanics of riding a bike at all to learn to ride it, just the “meta” (Be moving and steer so you don’t fall down.) You don’t have to understand the math behind shifting your weight to maintain balance, or why that is easier if you’re moving. If you did, very few people would be able to actually ride a bike.

    Likewise, you don’t have to understand the meta of “2,2,2” to apply it. The fact that it doesn’t apply at early levels because so many people can’t play for shit anyway points to bad game design, not a bad meta. The “Actual meta” is just too complex for mass market use.

    Like

  5. The bike video reminds me of why I’m happy games still ship with an “invert mouse” setting. I’ll be screwed if it ever goes away.

    Like

Leave a comment

Occasional Hero

Adventures in Part Time Gaming

Me Vs. Myself and I

A little bit of everything, a whole lot of nothing.

Gnomecore

World of Warcraft | Final Fantasy XIV Blog

I HAS PC

Life and Interwebs

In An Age

The adventure I was hoping for was in a place like this

Why I Game

Wandering worlds, wondering words...

Bio Break

MMOs, retro gaming, music, and more

GamingSF

Online gaming blog