PUBG defies welfare gaming

I promised no more politics posts here, and I keep it. However if you want to read politics from me, here is one (in a form of a screenshot).

.

Important announcement! By reaching top 100, my PUBG project is now complete (final stats, click “Solo FPP”):
the_end
Tomorrow comes a canned post, I will collect my thoughts, the previously written guide parts and the several pages of barely readable notes I wrote during games and on Monday I present the guide that will turn any random player into a top 1% player in the most popular video game.

.

The current mantra of game development is that you must give out rewards for horrible play or even blatant AFK. Star Wars Battlefront was a “nice” example of this nonsense. Now look at the biggest star on the gaming sky, PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds, compared to the #2 and #3 games of Steam:
compare

This game have two kinds of rewards. One is rating, which is a standard, completely zero sum ELO. If you suck, you lose rating. If you constantly suck, you’ll be sitting below 1200 with the rest of the morons.

The other reward is a currency you can spend on cosmetic crates. You get your first pair of crates of the week for 700 credits. Another one for 1400, then for 2800, 4200, 5600, 7000. A pair of crates cost $0.73+0.49 at the moment of the Steam marketplace.

A horribly lost game – regardless of rating – gives around some credits. That’s what you get if you just jump into School and die fast, that I did in a third person game just for a screenshot (actually it was military base). A top 10 gives 200+. A somewhat better performance can give even better, as pictured:
scores

Huge difference in outcome. Granted, a quick loss is faster than a win, but still, the matchmaking, the countdown, the airplane, the parachute and the actual time till he meets another Schooljumping idiot is about 5 minutes. The last pair of crates costs 200!!! such horrible games. With 5 mins each, that’s 17 hours, for a pair of $1.22 crates. Only a botter would take that (here, meet one). And remember, these are cosmetic rewards, no power.

If you wanted proof that the “you must give meaningful rewards for sucking or people stop playing”, here is a shining disproof.

Author: Gevlon

My blog: https://greedygoblinblog.wordpress.com/

11 thoughts on “PUBG defies welfare gaming”

  1. Nicely done Gevlon!
    Glad to see that you successfully concluded yet another gaming project. Any idea what will be next?

    Like

  2. We might be able to say about “shining disproof” once we get a few games that will repeat at least some of that success. Right now PUBG is “that game that everybody play”, unique case. Like Minecraft or WoW.

    Like

  3. @Hanura: the little bastards! When I log in, I see it as it should be. If I check it from another computer as anonymous, it’s [removed]. I replaced the link with a screenshot.

    Like

  4. In https://greedygoblinblog.wordpress.com/2017/12/06/what-if-league-of-legends-is-not-rigged-and-i-bumped-into-a-winning-strategy-and-mistaken-it-for-rigging/#comments you commented:

    > Skeddar: Another PUBG question, is your goal to be #100 at the end of the season (which, for whatever reason, isn’t known in advance) or at any point in the season?
    Goblin: @Skeddar: end of the season. While we don’t know when it ends, the top players rating flatlines around 2300, so if I get to top 100 when the #1 has 2300, then I got into the final top 100

    Did you change your plan? As far as I can see from your stats page, there was no recent season change, was there?

    Like

  5. @Jean-Mira: it’s possible that I’ll return to it at the end of season, but maybe not. It’s mostly a grind from here, now that the problem is solved. If enough people bitch about it, I do it just for a “perfect record”, but at the moment I’m not really interested. I don’t see the challenge in it.

    Like

  6. I was just curious, didn’t mean to complain. I guess it depends on what you want to do with the results. If you want to convince the masses, the current state won’t be “good enough”, I guess: It’s easy to dismiss it as “mid season stats don’t proof anything” and the rank doesn’t compare to what people are used to see in (end of season) ranking. Even when checking the stats page later, your screenshot looks fake on first sight (because your end of season stats would differ). Well, but those people who try will always find some reason to dismiss your results (see EVE).

    On the other hand, 138 games played should be more than enough to show that this was no start of season fluke. The question is, will any player – other than those who actually “get” the game – get that?

    As I said, don’t mean to push. Ah… and belatedly: Congrats!

    Like

Leave a comment

Occasional Hero

Adventures in Part Time Gaming

Me Vs. Myself and I

A little bit of everything, a whole lot of nothing.

Gnomecore

World of Warcraft | Final Fantasy XIV Blog

I HAS PC

Life and Interwebs

In An Age

The adventure I was hoping for was in a place like this

Why I Game

Wandering worlds, wondering words...

Bio Break

MMOs, retro gaming, music, and more

GamingSF

Online gaming blog