PUBG rating system

So I slowly but surely climb the rating, I’m currently #260 in EU with 2286 rating. Rampart cheating makes it harder than it was last season, since the cheaters are rushing through the lower rankings and then stop playing, so I can’t play against them. To gain rating I don’t just have to outlast other players, I have to outlast better ranked players. If the top ranked are not playing, I can only defeat lower ranked ones who barely give some rating. This makes climbing a slow grind:

rating

However, writing down the ranking gain every game helped me realize how the sub-rankings work. At first, you can see the pretty steady growth on kill rating. During these last 42 games, I didn’t have a single PvP death and had only 2 PvP kills (marked with arrows). These barely provided a visible bump on the kill rating graph that steadily grows. The explanation is that kill rating is probably calculated by sorting the players by killing position inside the game, with 0 kill 1 death players at the bottom and lots of kills, no death players at top. Probably my zero kill, zero (PvP) death usual stat is at the top 20%, so I constantly gain rating. Adding one more kill doesn’t increase my position significantly.

To understand the connection between the sub-charts I plotted sub-rating gain vs rating gain for both sub-rating:
winrate

killrate

As you can see, the win-rate is much stronger connected to the big rating. The cross-correlation of the two sub-ratings is 0.17, which is very low, so they indeed measure different things. The win-rate measures your death position against other players, weighted by current rating, while the kill-rate measures your K:D position in that game against other players. I tried to make a linear fit for the two sub-ratings and found that the best formula is Rating = 0.90*Winrate+0.24*Killrate.

Considering how low the weight of kill rating and even better, how actual kills are not needed to gain kill rating, I give up my earlier attempts to snipe. I will only attempt to kill in self-defense and collect weapons accordingly.

I don’t know how long the season will last and will the cheaters be removed from the game. There is no chance to outgrow 30 K:D, 50% winrate cheaters, so if they are tolerated, I can’t get to the toplist. But if there is some rotation between them, top 100 is definitely in reach. Sure, I have no chance to get to #1, but who cares. a “lol chicken dinner” at 1400 rating is like “omg ima 20/0/10 carry” in League of Legends, bronze 5. The only persistence in the game are the ratings, so this is the game to beat, not the silly individual matches that are mostly RNG (weapon finds, circle placement). Keeping constant high performance is what needed to climb on the rating, no RNG helps with that (headshot cheat unfortunately does).

Update: the season ended, next seasons starts on Oct 17. I won’t play much in the middle.

.

PS: it wouldn’t be PUBG if it wouldn’t be new ways to crash and cost me rating. This time in one game I couldn’t reconnect because:
fail1

In another I could reconnect and my viewpoint was on the starter island, without myself or any controls:
fail2

Author: Gevlon

My blog: https://greedygoblinblog.wordpress.com/

9 thoughts on “PUBG rating system”

  1. Frankly, i struggle to see the point of the PUBG series. It offers little to no insight into the social/asocial/corrupt discussion and it doesn’t even seem that you like the game.
    Chasing fads for fad’s sake never ends well.

    Like

  2. @Maxim: then you are not looking! What can be more asocial than NOT killing people and NOT being last survivor in a “be last survivor by killing people” game. They play the game as their peers and lose. I play the game as it is and I win. I’m competitive to speedhacker/aimbotters just by understanding how people work. After all, if others would do as I do:
    * we would meet and have to fight
    * we would find no medicine because others would take it

    Like

  3. Alright, I appreciate your objective a little more, but I revise my estimation of what you’re doing to “AFK in Alterac Valley”.

    Asocial? I think so.
    If everyone would do it, you’d lose? Check.
    Persistent rewards? Well, okay, not sure about that one. You want some honor points?

    You keep claiming that the leaderboard is the game without any real evidence. If you’re so asocial as to try to win a game nobody is playing, then I miss the point of asociality. If you found out someone was compiling a list of everyone on the internet ranked by the relative frequency with which they use the letter X, would you say, hey, nobody else is optimizing their placement on this list, because they’re too socially focused on using words without X in them!

    Like

  4. @Boringjorn: if climbing the ladder is not the point then what? Is your position “this is a pointless fun pasttime with no competition”?

    Like

  5. The point is having fun playing a game? it is called entertainment industry for a reason, right?
    For you having funs is climbing ladder, for others it’s shooting people.

    Like

  6. If you surveyed all of PUBG’s players, you would surely get a significant number who say “this is a pointless fun pasttime with no competition,” but no, that’s not exactly my position. There is competition, and it takes place in the space of each match and then ends. Just like any sport played by non-professionals. There could be no leaderboard at all, but that doesn’t mean no one cares if they win or lose.

    Like

  7. They might *care* but they don’t *matter*, just like a bunch of guys throwing basketballs into one hoop don’t matter at the NBA. The one thing that matters is the competition of elites that takes place on the leaderboards.

    Like

  8. Yes, I know that’s your thesis; what I still don’t understand is why. To me it seems exactly inverted: you throwing basketballs at a defunct leaderboard alongside a bunch of bots and hackers while everyone else is actually playing the game.

    Listen, my premise is that “they” includes the elites on the leaderboard. At best, they’re intentionally ignorant of it; at worst, disdainful. You’ve said the reason the leaderboard matters is because “they” think it matters, nothing more. I’m telling you they don’t think that.

    Like

  9. Rating matters because that drives the matchmaking. If you are high rated, you are playing against other high rated players. So being on the leaderboard means consistent game wins against the other good players, ergo being among the best. While winning an individual game at 1200 merely means that you killed some literal newbies AND got lucky with the circle.

    Like

Leave a comment

Occasional Hero

Adventures in Part Time Gaming

Me Vs. Myself and I

A little bit of everything, a whole lot of nothing.

Gnomecore

World of Warcraft | Final Fantasy XIV Blog

I HAS PC

Life and Interwebs

In An Age

The adventure I was hoping for was in a place like this

Why I Game

Wandering worlds, wondering words...

Bio Break

MMOs, retro gaming, music, and more

GamingSF

Online gaming blog