Can PUBG season resets be like WoW resets?

Note: I deleted and remade the same post because it broke the front page because of a bad HTML. Sorry for the mess.

I wrote how upset I am about having to regrind my rating in PUBG before I start competing for top positions. Currently I’m on 1685 rating, my climbing speed depends only on the amount of games I can play. That’s the definition of grinding. Hell, I could bot what I’m doing.
pubg

Then I got an idea. What if this is the point. What if it’s the same trick WoW uses to let players again and again “progress”. I estimated that reaching the rating that I can surely reach, 2300 will take about 37 hours. As resets happen monthly, with casual playing, I will keep climbing all month. Climbing is soooo much fun. I am getting better guys, I’m being more and more l33t, check out my stats!!!

I’m afraid this is another nasty trick to make socials feel good about their mediocre performance. Sure, 2300 isn’t bad (it’s top 0.1), but this is something that I can’t fail with my current strategy. 2400? Now that’s a challenge for the my current skills. I can fail that. Failing is not fun. Assuming I play casually, I cannot fail, because the game doesn’t let me get that far.

I am of course not playing casually. I am around 40% of my progress after a week. So I’ll reach my natural level at the middle of the month and will have like 10 days to bang my head to the wall. Maybe I get to top 100 this time. But if I don’t, I will be doomed once again to spend 2 weeks grinding trashmobs before the next bossfight.

Everything is WoW in video gaming, just with different skins.

Author: Gevlon

My blog: https://greedygoblinblog.wordpress.com/

5 thoughts on “Can PUBG season resets be like WoW resets?”

  1. Hotsplayer asked on the broken post: “We won the English premier league last season! Why must I start this season at 0 competition points like all these teams I am obviously superior to!”
    Even the EPL is WoW with a different skin.

    I guess it has to do with EPL being a spectator event and not a player event (spectators pay, not players). So having “a” champion for a season matters. If it would be running as a continuous event, today team X would be on top, but tomorrow Y might get on the top, which takes away the pivotal value of the individual game that makes it worthwhile to WATCH.

    Video games aren’t for watchers but for players. Coming second because of a bad moment and not having a chance to try again for a year/month is frustrating for the players and in a video game, they matter.

    Like

  2. Hearhtstone suffer from the same problem. There is monthly reset and although you get some ranking back, the setback is so huge that casuals never have any chance to get to the legendary rank because of time requirement, not skill requirement.

    Any yes you’re “always progressing” but I think on the long run it is boring even for the casuals that they reach only the same rating every month (or they not even reach it if life gets a bit more busy than usual). I more or less left HS because of this, there was no sense of progression, because I could only reach rank 15 after doing the daily quests (which are a must if you don’t want to throw a lot of gold to the game).

    Like

  3. Well, as long as the game is early access I can understand regular resets to improve their match making/ranking system. Guess one has to wait until the official release and see if the seasons are longer or not, which would provide players with more time and room to experiment to reach the top.

    Btw, will you analyze the match making? Like tracking names of players you’re getting matched with and check their elo on pubgtracker?

    Like

  4. We have it wired into our brains (males in particular) to need wins. Games which don’t sell wins don’t sell at all.
    Wins over other players cannot be sold. There is always a loser for each winner – the average must be 50-50. In PUBG it’s even worse – there is only 1 winner but 99 losers. Therefore the winning strategy for games is to sell excuses for losses by highly random outcomes (“I am really a winner but the other guy got lucky”). PUBG is extremely random compared to other shooters. If you die with 30 alive you are better than 70 players, if you got shot 1st you were unlucky with spawns. Half the players die very, very quickly, usually because they really were unlucky with spawns. They don’t feel bad about it. Then the other half feel good to be “winners” over those other 50 scrubs.
    Progressing feels like winning (you are gaining something – the rank). We are wired to learn. In this case, the ranking system creates a false learning experience.
    By the way: don’t complain about your levelling experience. You are not playing the game the way it’s designed to be played. If more people start doing it and some achieve top ranks then blue damage will simply get boosted to nerf your playstyle.

    Like

  5. No one would be able to come up with a way to scam a ladder that only partially resets… by… say… smurfing up more accounts and selling them on E-bay.

    Sure, that’s against the TOS. Or… is it really? What if it was the devs smurfing up accounts and selling them?

    Hmm! It’s almost like the entire online gaming paradigm is impossible to set up as a “fair competition” due to the anonymity and the incentive to monetize the hell out of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

